Books I’ll Never Write #6

Forget About Me (because I’m a sucker for writing romance, or lack there of)

“Did you ever actually love me? Or was it all just a game for you?” Maci whispered, digging her fingernails into the palms of her hands and praying that he wouldn’t break her heart.

“I thought I could. Love you, I mean. You had this smile that made my knees buckle and your lips drove me to drink. But I couldn’t bring myself to do it. Not when I knew I couldn’t give you what you wanted.” Lucian muttered, taking a drag from his cigarette before flicking the ashes away.

Maci watched them fall to the ground and wondered if that was what her heart looked like right now. Grey and burnt out and falling all around, only to tumblr_nqs7ookImm1spo2yzo1_400shatter once it hit the floor. That’s what it felt like.

“Don’t take it personally. I mean, we had some good times. The sex was great but we weren’t ever meant to be anything more than just a passing moment in life.” Maci was pulled from her thoughts when Lucian started speaking again and she just wanted to plug her ears against the lies he was saying.

“A passing moment in life?” Maci hissed, laughing humorlessly when Lucian just nodded his head at her. “I gave you every part of myself that I could and tore my heart to shreds trying to get you to love me back the way I loved you and you have the audacity to stand there and tell me that all we were was a fucking ‘passing moment’, like it wasn’t going to matter to anyone in the end?” Maci shouted, throwing her hands up in the air and Lucian took a step back when she walked towards him.

“We weren’t just a passing moment to me. And I hope it haunts you every night that you broke the heart of the one girl who could have loved you more than she ever loved herself.”

Leave a Reply

