Books I’ll Never Write #4

Memories Fade Fast (because it sucks to love something that death can touch)

“You’re in love with a ghost, Elizabeth! She isn’t coming back!” Dustin yelled, and Elizabeth whipped around to glare at him. “Libby’s been dead for months, Elizabeth. You need to move on.” Elizabeth clenched her fist at what her best friend had said and tried not to start crying. No matter how softly Dustin had said it, it still sliced through Elizabeth’s soul and left her feeling like a broken figurine. Cracked and unable to be repaired.

“I can still feel her. When I’m alone at night and trying to sleep, I can feel her crawl in bed beside me and slip her hand under the edge of my shirt like she always didtumblr_lbq7hsc5171qaivtro1_500. I can feel her brushing a kiss on the top of my head when I’m laying on the couch and I can feel her trying to hold onto me but no matter how much she tries or how much I pray that she’ll be able to grab on, she just passes through.”

Dustin moved closer to Elizabeth so he could wrap her in his arms but she backed away once the first tear fell.

“I fell in love with her when we were both sixteen and four years later it’s just as strong. She was my life. My everything. And it was all ripped away because some asshole with a god complex thought he should drive home drunk. So don’t you dare sit there and tell me that I need to move on because you don’t know the first thing about having your entire life fall to pieces. And you sure as hell
don’t know the first thing about loving someone so much that you lose a part of yourself when they die.”

One thought on “Books I’ll Never Write #4

Leave a Reply

